What Are Chakras And Why Are They Important?

What Are Chakras?

Before we define chakras and explore the meaning of each, it is essential to understand one thing: You are energy. All living things are created by and comprised of energy.The ability of your energy centers to function optimally is what keeps you psychologically, emotionally, physically, and spiritually balanced.

Chakras are energy centers within the human body that help to regulate all its processes, from organ function to to the immune system and emotions. Seven chakras are positioned throughout your body, from the base of your spine to the crown of your head. Each chakra has its own vibrational frequency, color, and governs specific functions that help make you, well, human.

The term Chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning  “wheel” or “disk”. Chakras are spinning wheels of energy/light. Through our Chakras we take in, incorporate and emanate light energy to keep us functioning optimally on all levels of life.

Chakras are located in the astral body along the spine, starting at the base of the spine and running upwards to the crown of the head. The Chakras coincide with a gland in the physical body and each radiate a specific color and energy. Since each chakra relates to specific spiritual, emotional, psychological and physical aspects of our being, it is said that the blockage or malfunction of the chakras can lead to physical, psychological and emotional disorders. The conscious awareness and the balancing of these energy centers on the other hand is believed to lead to well-being and good health.  (arhantayoga.org)


Major and Minor Chakras


We have major and minor chakras in our energetic system. When a chakra is not functioning properly or if it is blocked, illness often results. Our wellbeing on all levels can affect is affected by how well energy flows through our chakras.

If we are feeling depressed, then we may not be taking in the maximum amount of energy for our needs. If we do not nourish our bodies with the proper food and nutrients, then we take in less energy through our chakras. If we hold back feelings of anger, frustration or fail to speak our truth, we unconsciously block healthy energy flow through our chakra system.

Chakra Basics

If we focus on working on our physical, emotional, mental and spiritual health, we automatically promote the flow of energy through our chakras. Yoga is one way, we can work to strengthen and enhance the flow of energy through our chakras.

Clearing our lives of  clutter both  physically and emotionally also helps to strengthen our energy flow.

Forgiveness greatly enhances our energetic health and truely helps to strengthen the body’s energetic flow by bringing back balance and promoting wellbeing on all levels.

Base or Root Chakra – Muladhara.


Root Chakra


Your base chakra is related to survival, security, and is the closest to the mother earth, resting as it does at the base of the spine.

The root chakra represents our foundation. On the human body, it sits at the base of the spine and gives us the feeling of being grounded. When the root chakra is open, we feel confident in our ability to withstand challenges and stand on our own two feet. When it’s blocked, we feel threatened, as if we’re standing on unstable ground.

Think about your root chakra (aka Muladhara in Sanskrit) as the foundation of a house, except for your body when in balance it’s sturdy, stabilizing, and supportive . As such, it’s responsible for your sense of security and survival. It’s also connected to whatever you use to ground yourself, including basic needs such as food, water, shelter, and safety, as well as your more emotional needs such as letting go of fear and feeling safe. As you well know, when these needs are met, you tend to worry less.

The color associated with the base chakra is red. and it is naturally associated with the element earth. To keep this chakra healthy, exercises such as dancing, jogging or jumping are beneficial.

This chakra works best once we see that our security needs are being met so that our world is a safe and enjoyable place to live.


Sacral Chakra – Svadhistana.

Sacral Chakra


The Sacral chakra is related to sensuality, sexuality, and desire for pleasure. It is in the lower abdomen and represented by the colour orange. Svadhistana is associated with the element water.

Bellydancing, loving partnerships, and yoga can all serve to enhance the function of this chakra.

This chakra works best when you live your passion, follow your dreams and  go out and make them a reality.

The Sacral Chakra tends to impact our ability to be happy and joyful, compassionate, creative and passionate. It also influences our desires, sexuality and our reproductive functions amongst others.



Solar Plexus Chakra – Manipura.

The Solar plexus chakra is represented by the  colour yellow and is related to our power in this world. It’s natural element is fire, and this is where the “fire in your belly” term derives from.

An overbearing solar plexus chakra (one not in balance with the other chakras in your system or one where your energy is solely focused) can result in obsessive-compulsive control.

A solar plexus chakra, with a healthy flow of energy allows you to control your destiny, feel your power and accomplish your dreams.

Your third chakra  gives you the feeling of being in control of your destiny.

Heart Chakra – Anahata.

Green is the colour of your heart chakra. This chakra relates naturally to love and compassion, being at our heart center. This fourth chakra is associated with air. Healthy relationships, pets, family, even appreciation of beauty and nature enhance the health of this chakra.

Anahata says, “I love”. Let your heart energy flow freely in and out. Be open to receiving the love that is available to you now, the free-flowing love that is your birthright.



Throat Chakra – Vishuddha.

The throat center or communication center is where you speak your truth in this world. It’s color is blue.

When this chakra is flowing at optimum levels, you have the ability to ask for what you need and get it.

You also reflect your truth in the world through this chakra though your communication.

Singing, chanting and breathing exercises can enhance the health of this chakra.

Do not suppress your own beautiful voice. Speak your truth, sing your joy, emanate your love through the vibration of your words.



Third Eye Chakra – Ajna.

The natural color of this chakra is indigo. Insight, intuition, awareness and guidance are the properties of this sixth chakra.

This chakra, located between the eyebrows.

Meditation and visualization exercises can assist the healthy flow of this chakra. Be open to your inner guidance. Listen to your thoughts, they will assist you on the right path.



Crown Chakra – Sahasrara.

This chakra represents spiritual connection. It is associated with violet or violet-white light colour.

Located a little above the top of the head, this chakra represents the union, bliss, the knowledge of being at one with all.

Cosmic consciousness and peace are the frequencies held at this chakra.

Great Books On Chakra's

To find out more about Chakra’s check out this great book.